Finally Reaching 400 Subscribers on My Newsletter!

Finally Reaching 400 Subscribers on My Newsletter!

After five months, I finally reached this milestone for my newsletter!

Hi everyone! I quit my job five months ago to start my start-up. To make this journey a little less daunting, I started a newsletter to share my journey.

I have been working on this newsletter for five months. Today, the newsletter finally hit the milestone of 400 subscribers. This number is all organic without any ads. I know this is not a huge number, but as someone entirely new to the start-up/content creation scene with a bad record for writing consistently, this is a big milestone for me. I want to share some of my experiences and lesson learned.

Launch Mini Products

I launched a mini tool, codingfont.com. I didn't launch this product with the goal of growth. However, I got lucky, and this project went viral, and I gained about 100 subscribers overnight. This taught me that launching a mini product can help you grow.

Be Consistent

My newsletter usually goes out on Tuesday, and I try to stick with this publishing schedule as much as I can. There are two times I sent the newsletter a day late because I was too overwhelmed with all my projects. During those two times, I felt awful about missing the deadlines. But I remember my co-founder telling me that you have to be consistent and send weekly, even if you missed a day. So I hit sent the next day. I got two takeaways from this:

  • Consistently sending out the newsletter help me grow my newsletter and stay motivated.
  • I need to improve my systems, more on this below.

Set-up a Good System for Writing**

I'm not the type that writes my posts way ahead of time. I usually finish the newsletter on the day I'm sending it. I try to brainstorm the topic ahead of time if I can. I'll also write a list of bullet points and an outline if I have time. This list serves as a guide for writing. In the upcoming year, I am looking to improve my system.

Next goal

My next goal is to launch freebies and see how that could help with growing my newsletter. I will share my learnings too. You subscribe here if you want to weekly updates from my journey!


If you enjoy this series, you can subscribe here: